Buckwheat pasta with courgette and white beans

Buckwheat pasta with white beans and courgette

Last Sunday, I decided to start this year’s outdoor running season (I use a treadmill during the winter), and of course, I ended up overdoing it. Apparently,  even the combination of regular treadmill running and strength training focussing on your thighs and buttocks isn’t enough to prepare you for running up several hills in the course of one 35 minute run. Especially if it’s pretty damn windy. Since I still felt pretty spent a couple of hours later, I decided for a lunch rich in protein and carbs to help me refuel my energy so I wouldn’t just spend the rest of the day channel surfing on my sofa.

I always have a couple cans of beans or lentils in my pantry – while it is usually cheaper to cook them yourself, it often takes hours (literally) to cook them, so if you want a quick lunch or dinner, go for the canned ones. I also had an previously unopened package of buckwheat pasta that I still needed to give a try, so I decided on a quick buckwheat pasta dish with white beans and courgette, seasoned with lime juice and a little sage. This recipe takes you just about 10 to 12 minutes to prepare, and the result is a really delicious and energizing dish with a great combination of flavours – you will be surprised how well white beans, sage and lime juice work together! And the best part: After lunch I finally stopped felling worn out! This might become a regular post-workout dish for me.

You need:

  • 60 g buckwheat pasta
  • 1 medium sized courgette
  • 120 g white beans, cooked (if using canned, put them in a colander and shortly rinse of before using)
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 teaspoon dried sage
  • vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Wash and clean the courgette, cut in half lengthwise and then into thick slices. Heat some vegetable oil in a small frying pan and gently roast the courgette for about three minutes. Meanwhile, heat water with a pinch of salt in a small pot and mince the garlic. Once the water is boiling, add the buckwheat pasta and simmer for three minutes or until the pasta in done (check the packaging for the right cooking time!). Add garlic and white beans to the courgette, stir well and  roast for another three minutes. Add lime juice and sage, then drain the pasta and add to the pan as well. Mix and season to taste with salt and pepper. Enjoy!

Note: If you don’t have buckwheat pasta, don’t worry, just use any other one you have in your pantry. Just make sure to adjust the cooking time!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

