Creamy kohlrabi soup with roasted pumpkin seeds

kohlrabi soup with pumpkin seeds

Lately I’ve been posting a lot of recipes for sweet stuff, so I wanted to go for a savoury recipe this time. I had initially planed something different, but then I woke up yesterday with a severely sore throat, I wasn’t able to eat anything even remotely ‘chewy’ without it hurting like hell. So, I went for a hearty cream soup recipe, that went easy on my throat but was still filling enough to not leave me lusting for snacks afterwards. The second day my throat was slightly better (albeit I then entered the runny nose and achy bodyparts stage of this cold), so I topped the soup with some roasted pumpkin seeds – though it is delicious without them as well!

You need:

  • 1 kohlrabi
  • 3 medium sized potatoes
  • 3 small carrots
  • 1 shallot
  • 600 ml vegetable stock
  • 2 tablespoons pumpkin seeds
  • 1 teaspoon dried summer savory
  • vegetable oil

Clean and peel the vegetables and cut kohlrabi, potatoes and carrots into bite-sized pieces. Finely chop the shallot, heat some vegetable oil in a pot and gently roast the shallot for three minutes. Add the remaining vegetables, roast for a few minutes and deglaze with the vegetable stock. Add dried summer savory, bring to a boil and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes or until the vegetables are tender. Meanwhile, heat a non-stick pan and roast the pumpkin seeds (without any fat!) for a couple of minutes – but make sure not to burn them!

Take about one third of the boiled vegetables from the soup, and blend the rest until smooth. Add the vegetables cubes back to the soup and reheat if necessary. Top with pumpkin-seeds for serving. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

