Fame for The Uni Cookbook, a long break and the perfect autumn treat

baked figs with goat cheese

Hello my cooking comrades – it’s been a very long time since my last post, but a lot has happened in beetween. The main reason for my long break was that since my last post I have moved twice – first back in my childhood home and then into another city for my new university project – my PhD. Yes! I have finished my MA degree this summer and decided to stick to the university world just for a little bit longer.

And while I was busy with squeezing all my stuff in boxes, suitcases and cartons to be shipped from one home to the next, I completely missed a huge event for The Uni Cookbook: My blog was mentioned in this Guardian article by Fiona Beckett on “A new generation of student cooks” among other great blogs like nutmegs, seven by Elly McCausland and Poires au Chocolat by Emma Gardner – two awesome cooking blogs to check out for you, I have already saved them in my favourites and can highly recommend both of them! 

Thanks to that article I had more than 2.000 visitors on my blog in just one week – and embarrassing enough, it took me a full week to notice that there where far more visitors on my blog than usual – but when I finally noticed, I somehow transformed into a silly grinning, laughing and up-and-down bouncing dark-haired something. In other words: To see my blog linked to on that Guardian article completely made my day, my week, if not the whole month. So thanks a lot to Fiona Beckett for this article on student cooking blogs – and thanks to everyone who likes The Uni Cookbook, has a subscription or just comes here via search engines.

Last but not least, I also have a new recipe for you: Baked figs with goat cheese and honey. A lovely little autumn treat which you can serve as a starter, or simply as a sweet but hearty little something. I absolutely love fresh figs, so I could eat this all day long – I hope you’ll enjoy it as well.

You need:

  • 2 fresh figs
  • 30g goat cream cheese
  • dried thyme
  • some honey

Clean the figs and carefully cut a cross in their tops (as if you want to cut them in quarters, but don’t cut through them!). Gently squeeze the bottom part of the figs so that the top opens like a blossom. Now fill the figs with the goat cream cheese, sprinkle with some dried thyme and drizzle with honey. Place the figs on a small baking tray, heat the oven and bake the figs for about 8-10 minutes at 180° C. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

